ACO: Brahms and Dvorak National Concert Tour

Sally Walker (Creator)

    Research output: Non-textual formLive Music


    Two orchestral romantic masterpieces: Brahms’ Double Concerto for Violin and Cello and Dvořák’s Eighth Symphony were performed by the Australian Chamber Orchestra in eleven concerts in a national tour. The orchestra performed in a hybrid format; a combination of historical and modern instruments, historical brass, wooden flutes and strings playing on gut strings. The concerts gained great critical acclaim: 'A highlight of Dvorak’s symphony after interval, conducted by Tognetti, was the distinctive colour of the woodwind playing...with comely, rounded-edged flute tone (on wooden flute) from Sally Walker.” (Sydney Morning Herald) “Again the playing of Sally Walker impressed in the well-known passage for solo flute.” (BachTrack) “ “Special mention should be made of flautist Sally Walker (Daily Telegraph)
    Original languageEnglish
    Place of PublicationSydney Opera House
    PublisherAustralian Chamber Orchestra
    Size60 performers 2 hrs with interval. National tour.
    Publication statusPublished - 2019
    EventACO: Brahms and Dvorak National Concert Tour - Sydney Opera House
    Duration: 9 Nov 2019 → …


    Dive into the research topics of 'ACO: Brahms and Dvorak National Concert Tour'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

    Cite this